The 2017 Church Architecture Awards
The Belarusian Memorial Chapel, the first wooden church built in London since the Great Fire of 1666, a new entrance for St Anne’s church in Soho featuring sleek glass doors and stylish neon lighting, and the restoration of the cupola and tower of St Peter and St Paul church in Blandford Forum in Dorset are featured in the shortlists for the 2017 Church Architecture Awards.

Winning entries will be revealed at an awards ceremony to be held at St Mellitus College, London SW5 on Thursday 26 October 2017. The Duke of Gloucester KG GCVO ARIBA will announce the 2017 winners of the Presidents' Award for new church architecture and for the reordering, extensions or alteration to church buildings. Prince Nicholas von Preussen will announce the 2017 winner of the King of Prussia Gold Medal for repair and conservation architecture. 


The King of Prussia Gold Medal

An award for the scheme of innovative, high quality church conservation or repair that overcomes the greatest aesthetic or technical challenge.

The award was established in 1844 by Christophe Karl Pfeuffer. He was a medallist and coin engraver who in 1840 received an appointment at the Berlin Mint. In 1845 he was promoted to the rank of first medallist to the Mint and was described as a person who was well endowed by nature, who modelled quickly and carefully, and took good likeness, but was perhaps too hasty and prolific. His medal of the Third Century of the Reformation at Berlin in 1839 is considered one of his most successful productions.

The Association is fortunate that our Patron Prince Nicholas von Preussen is a direct descendant of the King of Prussia for whom the medal was made. Prince Nicholas often tells the story of how it was presented to the ICBS (Incorporated Church Building Society) who did not know who to award it to, so it lay in an office drawer for many years until found in the 1960s. Today it is awarded annually. 

The Gold Medal was the gift of King Freidrich Wilhelm IV of Prussia in 1857 who was highly impressed with British Victorian church architecture. The architects responsible for the winning project will receive the prestigious King of Prussia Gold Medal.


The Presidents’ Award

First awarded in 1999, it is named after three presidents: The Archbishop of Canterbury and the Archbishop of York as Joint Presidents of the National Churches Trust, and the EASA President. The award is given for the best example of new design in re-ordering, alterations, extensions or new buildings which are specifically for liturgical use.

Award nominations are considered by the Association in conjunction with the National Churches Trust (formerly the ICBS) and awarded at the EASA Annual General Meeting. The award is given to the designer and the ICBS Chalice and Paten are lent to the winning parish to be held by them for the next year. The winning church or chapel will receive a £500 prize.

Nominations can be made by architects, chartered surveyors, churches and chapels and anyone else with a passion for great church architecture. 


Young Church Architect of the Year

First awarded in 2016. The award is available to an architect under 40 who has been responsible for a shortlisted design of either a scheme for The King of Prussia Gold Medal or The Presidents' Award.


Judges for the Ecclesiastical Architects and Surveyors Association
Prince Nicholas von Preussen, Patron, Ecclesiastical Architects and Surveyors Association , Russell Trudgen, President, EASA; Roger Molyneux, Vice President EASA; Anna Joynt, EASA Awards officer; Mark Pearce, EASA Secretary.

Judges for the National Churches Trust
HRH The Duke of Gloucester, KG GCVO ARIBA, Vice Patron; Luke March, DL, Chairman; Eddie Tulasiewicz, Head of Communications.


Nominations can be made by architects, chartered surveyors, churches and chapels and anyone else with a passion for great church architecture. 



Go to top

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.

EU Cookie Directive Module Information