You are here: HomeAwardsPresidents'

The Presidents’ Award

First awarded in 1999, it is named after three presidents: The Archbishop of Canterbury and the Archbishop of York as Joint Presidents of the National Churches Trust, and the EASA President. The award is given for the best example of new design in re-ordering, alterations, extensions or new buildings which are specifically for liturgical use.

Award nominations are considered by the Association in conjunction with the National Churches Trust (formerly the ICBS) and awarded at the EASA Annual General Meeting. The award is given to the designer and the ICBS Chalice and Paten are lent to the winning parish to be held by them for the next year. The winning church or chapel will receive a £500 prize.

This year, a 'Young Church Architect of the Year' award is available to an architect under 40 who has been responsible for a winning design of either a scheme for The King of Prussia Gold Medal or The Presidents' Award.

HRH The Duke of Gloucester will be a special guest judge for the 2016 Presidents' Award and the King of Prussia Gold Medal.

The deadline for submitting projects is 31st July 2016. From the entries, a shortlist will be announced in September and winners will be revealed at a special awards ceremony held in London in November 2016.

Nominations can be made by architects, chartered surveyors, churches and chapels and anyone else with a passion for great church architecture. Submitting a nomination can be done online by completing a simple form 

The Presidents' Award 2016

Go to top

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.

EU Cookie Directive Module Information